Photoshopped

A picture is worth a thousand lot of words. Here’s a recent photo (a total selfie, by the way) that I think tells some things about me. I photoshopped in some numbers, and voilà!

numbers info

1. Trees. I live around lots of trees. This isn’t an accident. It speaks to my quiet personality. I relish solitude and detest being in bustling, busy, noisy places for too long. Part of the reason I live in the sticks is my husband – Andy loves being in the woods, and so we bought a tiny house on 5 1/2 acres of mostly wooded land. It’s quiet here (mostly) and we both enjoy it immensely.

2. Hair. I’m a brunette, and I’m so glad. Not because of dumb blonde jokes told by even more ignorant people, but because I find brunettes more attractive. However, I did spend a part of high school and college trying to change my hair color – sometimes blonde, sometimes lighter brown, and then this one horrible, awful time when I tried to put in blonde and red highlights using boxes of hair dye at home. The colors mixed and I ended up with huge chunks of pink and purple hair. Then, I went to my local JC Penney salon to get it “fixed,” and I left with very dark brown and a top layer of purple (PURPLE!) highlights. I looked like a witch, just in time for my senior prom and high school graduation. Ugh. Anyway, I’ve been back to my regular shade of brown for probably 8 years and I’m not changing it.

3. Glasses. I’ve been wearing glasses for 6 years. I wear them for distance, generally all day, and I’m one of those weird people who actually likes wearing them. I’ve never considered contacts because I will not touch my eyeballs. I can’t even put on eye makeup (I’ve worn mascara like twice in my life and both times someone else had to force it on while I tried not to cry). The glasses in this picture are brand new and I love them – they’re bold and add lots of decoration to my otherwise “Plain Jane” face.

4. Namaste. I bought this handmade necklace 4 years ago at a craft show, long before I really got into yoga. For a while, I’ve really connected with the meaning of the word, and I wear the necklace as a reminder. While there are many definitions for Namaste, I connect most with this one: “I honor the place in you in which the entire universe dwells. I honor the place in you which is of love, of truth, of light, and of peace. When you are in that place in you and I am in that place in me, we are one.”

 

pen_silhouette

Write on

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

