10 tiny tidbits to myself 10 years ago

I’m taking part in responding to prompts to fuel my writing. Since I turned 28 this year, I found the “Letter to yourself 10 years ago” the most intriguing, since 10 years ago, I was barely 18. And although I’m still considered “just a babe” at 28, a lot has changed for me in the last 10 years.

Thank freaking goodness!!

Well, here are 10 tiny tidbits of advice for myself at 18. If some of them don’t make sense to you, that’s because this is written for me.

Lettertomyself10yearsagoimage1. High school is over and college will be different. You’ve been ready for this since about your sophomore year. Don’t let anyone hold you back.

2. You should probably never have your hair done in tiny cornrows ever again. That was a one time mistake that should stay in that sketchy dark alley of the Bahamas.

3. When you wear a dress, keep your legs together. Flashing a packed auditorium once is enough for a lifetime.

4. Your college roommate, while annoying as all get out, is just trying to find her place here too. Be kind. And invest in ear plugs, because there are some songs that will be forever ruined.

5. That sleazeball who only lasted one semester and never learned what the word no means? Elbow him in the balls even harder. You’ll be doing every other girl on earth a favor.

6. The guy with the dimple and the loud laugh who covered other peoples’ cars in mud is not really a fucking asshole. He’s one of the good guys. Give him a chance.

7. Grad school is the right step after college, even if it feels scary. It will give you the distance you need to separate from the things and the people you’ve outgrown.

8. Halloween is a great day to get married. And to celebrate anniversaries. Say yes.

9. Marriage is really, really hard. When you’re mad, put on your big girl pants and talk about it. It will work out.

10. Others with whom you were once very close will take different paths in life than you. Let it happen. You know what you want and what you need. Don’t ever feel guilty for choosing happiness.

Well, there’s my list. My 28-year-old self is very happy with it and I think my 18-year-old self would have been too (although, my 18-year-old self was pretty stubborn, so I’m not sure she would have listened).

What advice would you give to yourself 10 years ago?

Leave a Reply

