C’est la vie

I’m not really even sure why I’m writing this post. All I know is that I’m wandering around my house doing typical “Monica” things (a.k.a. compulsive cleaning) and I’m basically writing this post in my head, so I figured I’d head to my computer and see what comes out.

That’s the beauty of having my own blog. I can write about whatever the hell I feel like.

Let’s start here.

I’m making a concerted effort to be more positive – scratch that – more calm about things in my life. After the last two years I’ve had, it’s time. I won’t bore you with details about everything that stressed me out, but just know that I went through some things that changed me. Changes I didn’t particularly like. I felt a bit out of control of many things that I thought I had a handle on.

I was wrong. What to do when there are things you can’t control? Pick the things you can, and micromanage the shit out of them. Well, that works for a while but it will eventually burn you up.

What I aim for now more than ever is a sense of calm. Peace. Stillness. Breath. That’s what will save you from a million moments of stress, anxiety, and anger.

I could let myself get worked up over things that I don’t feel are fair, but it would be a waste.

It comes down to this – “C’est la vie.”

If you don’t like something about your life, change it. If you can’t, change the way you think about it. Anger, anxiety, and the blame game won’t get you anywhere. Nine times out of ten, it will burn you, and you still won’t be happy.

C’est la vie is freeing. Try it on for size. I did, and you know what? It’s a perfect fit.

Leave a Reply

